“I think it’s terribly fashionable to look like a terrorist …”

Posted in homeroom, raise your hand, recess by Staff on December 13, 2008

“BROOKLYN, WE GO HARD”

I haven’t had an anthem in quite a while and this track is definitely doing it for me. Not because I was born and raised in Brooklyn, which I was. Nor is it because I love Jay Z and every now then throw up the Roc, which I do. It’s moreso because i’m on a serious hustle right now and as such, I go hard at all times. It’s nice to blast a little motivation during my morning shower.

I can’t say I know much about the Brooklyn Jay-Z describes save for a short stint living on Marcy Avenue when I was too young to remember . Oh, George’s giant speakers, late night reggae parties next door every night of Summer ’92. Jay I’m more Jamaican than you. Take your beef patty and cut it out with that accent! My current thoughts of Brooklyn include a personal quest to own a dope brownstone in Park Slope or trendy loft space in Williamsburg quite far from my humble beginnings. I’d never gone further than Myrtle Avenue on the ‘L’ until college though I took that train every single day for years. And I have total envy for the culture emerging there. The boys over at It’s The Real wanted to highlight that part of my favorite borough by showing us another side of whose really going hard right now and changing the scene in Brooklyn.

The awkward blond chick is definitely the stand out star of the whole thing.

Check it out here [because WordPress sucks]; it’s hilarious.

Since you had to click to see it, here’s another visual treat. Check out the actual video to the track … produced by Evan Roth, who said,

I’ve been turning down client requests to use Typographic Illustration for 5 years in hopes that one day the phone would ring and it would be Hova.

It’s comforting to know that I’m not the only one. I’ve been turning down rappers for even longer than that in hopes that one day the phone would ring and Hov would ask me to star in one of his videos.

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

